4 finalists named for Lilly scholarship

Four Brown County High School seniors have made it to the final round of consideration for a scholarship that will pay for all four years of college.

Annika Evenson, Josephine Fields, Mattie Satter and Tristen Shields have been selected as finalists for the Brown County Lilly Endowment Scholarship Program. The scholarship is administered by the Brown County Community Foundation and is awarded to one high school senior each year.

The 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar will receive a four-year, full-tuition scholarship to any college or university in Indiana, plus a $900 yearly stipend for books.

The finalists were picked from a pool of eight applicants after submitting an application. Applications for the 2022 scholarship were blindly reviewed and independently scored by members of a scholarship committee.

Finalists were then asked to write an impromptu essay and interview with the committee in October.

The rankings of the finalists and the committee’s recommendations for the scholarship nominees have been submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. for final review.

The next Lilly Endowment Community Scholar for Brown County will be named this month.

To qualify, students must live in Brown County and attend an accredited public high school.

Over $424 million in tuition has been awarded to scholars since the Lilly Endowment’s creation in 1998, which is administered by Independent Colleges of Indiana in Indiana’s 92 counties.

For more information on the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program or other scholarships administered by Brown County Community Foundation, visit browncountygives.org or contact Jenise Bohbrink, BCCF’s finance and programs manager, at 812-988-4882 or scholarships@bccfin.org.